jump to navigation

About to go all wedding, all time March 17, 2008

Posted by Natasha in Wedding.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Ok, so I haven’t posted in ages.

I know, I suck.

Im just not cut out to be one of those people who blogs every day. I could, if you know, I had just a tiny bit more motivation than I do. I’m just inherently lazy.

One thing I have been doing lots of lately, other than work, because my goodness, there has been work; is wedding stuff.

Now I know our wedding isn’t until April 5th next year (Yes, more than a year away still), but, I’m excited (Funnily enough)! I spend hours every week trawling the internet (or teh intertubes, or whatever) browsing through wedding stuff, and making decisions I probably don’t really need to make for another 6 months.

Progress at the moment looks like this

The Dress.

I have my dress! I actually picked it up ridiculously cheap only a few weeks after we got engaged. I happened to be browsing in Noni B, and they had their post-Christmas sale on, including their formal wear. I was rifling through racks, which included white dresses, and thought, oh that looks quite nice, wonder what size it is! – Long story short, it was the right size (for now), a good length (just) and suited me nicely. And the price!

The dress is really quite lovely, albeit plain. I do like it, but I do occasionally have second thoughts. Especially since trying on a Wow dress a few weeks ago. Bad move. The Wow dress is around 3 times as much as mine, for hire. 10 times as much to buy it. So, ouch. (although, its still classes as a cheap dress. Yes, mine was that cheap.) I think if it had a train, I would be a lot more in love with it. Maybe I can get it altered.

I also have my veil, that arrived today, courtesy of E-bay! Of all places! It really is gorgeous, fingertip length (even on me!), satin edged, with little clear beads stitched randomly near the edges. Again, heaps cheaper than the $160 concoctions in stores.

As far as apparel goes, that’s it.

But we do have a venue!

We only looked at one venue before deciding where we wanted to have our reception. On a warm sunny day, the weekend before Christmas, we went for a cruise down the peninsula. I think it was an unspoken agreement that Mr G and I would get married somewhere near the beach, even before we got to Portsea. I suggested we check out the Portsea Hotel, and we fell in love with it instantly. We’re having it upstairs, on the Portsea Deck, which looks out onto the beach and bay, around to the point. Absolutely stunning. We tossed up where to have our ceremony, thinking for a while that we were going to have it actually on the beach, but the hotel’s excellent function coordinator talked us out of it. We’re now getting married on the lawns, with the same view as the Deck.

We have also chosen a photographer, though we haven’t made any deposits yet. We are going to get Jayne from Brighteyes photography to take our photos. She has a package that suits us perfectly, and for half the price we budgeted for.

In addition, we have confirmed our celebrant, and will be meeting with her as soon as we both get our birth certificates organised, to fill in the notice of intention to marry (Wooo!).

Now the big remaining decisions are:

Flowers

Bridesmaids dresses

Cake

The Honeymoon (When? Where? What?)

Cars (To have or not to have – at this stage going with not)

plus about a million other decisions.

Excitingly, it looks like I now have somewhere to stay the night before the wedding! Auntie J’s neighbour has a holiday house in Rye, which sleeps 10!

Means that all the people I want there the night before can be there, and gives us a place to ‘leave’ from!

Can you tell I’m excited?!

Now if I could just bloody well shrink (probably would be helped by me getting off my butt now and then) I’d be really on the way to being sorted!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

