jump to navigation

Things to think about September 22, 2009

Posted by Natasha in Infertility.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Well firstly, I still thought it was yesterday, and almost didn’t post…

I rang Monash today. We’re pushing towards our next step being IVF/ICSI. Apparently they have just introduced a new billing system in which they will place a freeze on your credit card for the rebated costs, and will just charge you the out of pocket expenses. Lovely Nurse didn’t know a lot about it, and is having someone ring me in the next couple of days.

I asked about deadlines for treatment this year. Apparently if I have a down-reg cycle (that’s the one with the pill right?), the latest I can be on the pill is November 5th. If I have the other type (the name of which currently escapes me) then the latest I can start will be early December. This is good news.

Our out of pocket expenses are looking at being around the $2500 mark, with about $1100 for the actual IVF/ICSI, around $270 for the donor sperm, and around $1000 for the hospital fees. Potentially more if Synarel or Orgulatron (I think that’s what it’s called) is part of the protocol.Up front costs would be about $6000, so hopefully the new billing system has some good news for us, otherwise this isn’t happening this year.

There is still no news about the Senate debate over the changes to medicare. I can’t seem to find anything out, and Lovely Nurse knew nothing.

Comments»

1. Rain - September 23, 2009

I hate how much IF treatments cost. It boggles the mind, doesn’t?? I hope this next cycle works out for you!

Happy ICLW.

2. Jen - September 23, 2009

I hate how much IF costs are and how much adoption expenses are. It’s amazing, some insurances cover IF to an extent (mine did to an extent, I was VERY lucky), and others don’t. I hope that everything turns out ok financially and you can move on with your cycle this year. I know how hard it is to wait when you want something more than anything else in the world. Good luck! Oh yeah, thank you for your comment to my post.

3. FET Accompli - September 24, 2009

Amazing how much this whole process costs… Just crazy!!

4. Circus Princess - September 25, 2009

It’s crap that being infertile is not only emotionally stressful but also a FREAKIN’ economical nightmare!!

I guess I’ll thank our lucky star that I’m currently in Europe where it’s about a sixth of the cost. Something to think about…

Happy ICLW!

5. Lynn - September 26, 2009

I hope you get some good news about the finances and can have IVF this year. It’s so crazy that it costs so much to be a parent! When I think of the amount of money we spent preventing pregnancy and now the amount we’re spending on getting pregnant, I have to laugh. Or else I’d cry. Good luck to you!

~ICLW~

6. Lisa RM - September 26, 2009

Good luck on the move and getting everyone back to healthy.

7. Kari - September 28, 2009

Hoping you get some good news on finances and get to start your cycle soon!! Good luck!!

ICLW

8. theworms - September 30, 2009

GL with everything. I hope it all gets worked out and you can cycle soon.

I just found your blog through ICLW. We are about to start d-iui’s soon, DH has unexplained NOA.


Leave a Reply

