jump to navigation

The one with the unpleasant drugs, part the 58th January 8, 2011

Posted by Natasha in News and Drivel.
Tags: ,
trackback

It’s been a while since I’ve ranted about drugs on here!

Metformin and I have a love hate relationship.

I love that it helps me lose weight, and kills my sugar cravings, but it hates my guts. Literally.

I’m on the XR, which is supposedly meant to be gentler on the tummy, but I’ve never found that. In the past (this is my third time starting on it) I’ve found that rather than dragging it out with a staggered dosage, I’m better to just go straight to full dosage, and hope my body catches up quickly.

The things we do…

Comments»

1. jill - January 8, 2011

Wishing you luck with your weight loss goals 🙂

I’ve been taking glumetza (name brand met I guess) since Oct.09 and I found that it totally changed my relationship with food. I’m very interested to read that it kills your sugar cravings. For me it is more about simple carbs but also an in general thing that I have a hard time explaining.

Anyway, I recently switched to met XR and haven’t noticed a difference. For me (with the glumetza) the symptoms were there off and on while I got used to it in the first few months but I rarely ever have any now. If I stick to keeping a lot of protein, fiber, and water in my diet and stay away from large portions of carbs (though I do eat carbs all the time) I am fine.

Maybe the meal replacement plan you are thinking of will help with the side effects. From what I experienced in the beginning, they are very unpleasant – I hope you feel better quickly this time around!

2. Rebecca - January 10, 2011

Yup – I hate metformin too – i always end up in the toilet
literally when i take it


Leave a Reply

